South Africa named the squad for the home series against India

Although the new covid variant led to the delay of India’s visit to South Africa, the hosts named their squad. The most notable changes to the draft squad were adding Sisanda Magala (pacer) and Ryan Rickelton (wicketkeeper-batsman).

Also, the Proteas welcome back Duanne Olivier, Kagiso Rabada, and Anrich Nortje after the latter has a small rest. Predictably, Dean Elgar will lead the team throughout the series of diverse matches, while Temba Bavuma will help him as vice-captain.

The full squad looks as follows: Dean Elgar (c), Temba Bavuma (vc), Quinton de Kock (wk), Sarel Erwee, Lungi Ngidi, Marco Jansen, Wiaan Mulder, Kagiso Rabada, Beuran Hendricks, George Linde, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Anrich Nortje, Keegan Petersen, Rassie van der Dussen, Duanne Olivier, Kyle Verreynne, Glenton Stuurman, Prenelan Subrayen, Sisanda Magala, Ryan Rickelton.

Read more: Ireland Tours of the West Indies: Dates Presented.

The Omicron variant of coronavirus disease found in South Africa forced authorities to rethink the cricket tour, but they agreed only to postpone the first match by seven days. The start of the series is planned for 26th December in the Test format. The sides will play another two Tests then, with the series closing via three ODIs. Want to know more about cricket news for today and don’t miss the important news? Subscribe to and receive the latest updates to your email.


Related Articles

Back to top button